My Day in Airport Hell

The day started innocently enough. I woke up at 7 at my hotel….went and had a nice breakfast in the breakfast room followed by a workout on the treadmill.

After showering and checking my email…I noticed the weather was turning bad in Buffalo….rain switching to snow, sleet, etc…and decided I’d best return my rental car and head to the airport.

….

Thank GOD I have a great sense of direction, because my GPS was locking up on me trying to find the rental place…but I returned the car, got on the shuttle and arrived at Buffalo/Niagara International in plenty of time for my 1:50 flight.

….

I had a nice lunch…strolled back and forth through the terminal to get some exercise and then boarded my flight..which said it was leaving on time………….HAH!!!!!!!!!!!

….

After sitting at the gate for upwards of 30 minutes….the captain informed us that there were delays in Chicago (my initial destination)…..and we were all shocked…SHOCKED I say….delays in Chicago??????? Who knew!!!!???????!!!!

….

After one hour and two deicings….we were finally airborne. The flight was uneventful….until we were within 100 feet of landing…then we suddenly shot straight back up into the air…..I thought we were being hijacked!!!!!!!!! I was freaking out….the captain FINALLY comes on and says that some nimrod was lollygagging around on the runway and we had to circle and reattempt on the same runway……lovely…..I’ve missed my connecting flight to Columbus.

….

Finally, 30 minutes later, we’re at the gate and I run in (practically knocking over an old woman) to the nearest gate attendant…..as providence would have it…my connecting flight has been delayed almost 2 hours….BUT!!!!!! There is a flight leaving for Columbus 3 gates down that is boarding NOW…and he moves around the stand by list and gets me on it….I want to kiss him. (He was totally my type)

….

Grabbing my boarding pass, I rush down to gate 5 to board my 4:20 flight to Columbus…which has now been delayed to 4:30, 4;40, 4:45, 4:50, 5:00, 5:05………we finally board at 4:50 and I instantly hate the flight attendant…she’s a bitch on wheels….literally. We all get on in an orderly fashion thanks to lots of eye rolling and huffing and puffing of Matilda the Evil One….and we taxi out……we start that very fast driving thing that typically leads to lift off……but we immediately slow down, turn around and just sit on the tarmac…..Great….hijacked again….could my DAY GET WORSE?????????

….

After sitting there for 30 minutes with Matilda glaring at us….DARING us to use our cell phones….the captain comes on and advises us that the altimeter failed and we are going back to the gate to let the techie guys check it out…..SWELL!!!!!!!!!!

….

30 minutes later….captain advises us it was a quick fix, we’ll be on our way momentarily….Matilda allows us to call worried loved ones but watches her watch. Mike is pretty livid and getting drunk at Columbus by now…..like I can help it.

….

Welll, momentarily turned into another 30 minutes but we were finally on our way….thank God it was a quick flight….we felt like we were putting Matilda the Evil One out just asking for water….but I pushed my luck….I needed a drink dammit and I asked for wine…..”It’s Fie Dollah” she informs me, “I know” I say…..”Do you have exact chaaaaaaaaange?’….I wave a $5 bill at her and she reluctantly hands me my wine….I smile sweetly and say “Thanks EVERSO much!”

….

Finally……at 8:45 p.m……we land………I call Mike and he mumbles “Is this going to be good news?” …..hahahahahahah……….I’m practically ready for a straight jacket at this point.

….

OMG!!!My luggage came out FIRST! And I was home by 11:00………….now.mind you.…….I could have driven home from Buffalo in the time that entire day took me.

….

Notes to self: Cough up the dough and fly out of CVG or DAY…..Avoid conncection in Chicago.

Leave a Reply

